

MANHATTAN COLLEGE MANHATTAN COLLEGE SENATE

APPROVED BY THE SENATE (DATE)

BE IT ENACTED THAT SEARCH COMMITTEES FOR ACADEMIC ADMINISTRATORS WILL BE CONSTITUTED AS FOLLOWS:

I. Membership will consist of faculty, undergraduate and graduate students, and administrators; each member of a Committee shall be avoting member.

A. The Committee to select a Provost will consist of 11 members:

1. One faculty members from each School (total of 5) and one faculty member who is the representative from the Council for Faculty Affairs; the faculty of each School will elect the members from their own School, elections to be conducted by the dean of the School; the School of Continuing and Professional Studies (SCPS) is exempt because of its number of full-time faculty members; 2. One dean chosen by the Council of Deans;

3. One Vice President chosen by the Council of Vice Presidents;

4. One member to be chosen by and from among the Director of Information Technology Services or CIO, Director of the Center for Academic Success (CAS) or AVP for Academic Success, Assistant or Associate Provost, Director or Executive Director of the Libraries, and the leader of the Staff Council;

5. One undergraduate student; the dean on the Committee will convene the faculty members of the Committee to choose the student members from among students nominated by the six deans (one from each School or a total of six nominees); and

6. One graduate student selected as above, A5, from among those nominated by the graduate department chair(s) and graduate program director(s) from those Schools with graduate programs.

B. The Committee to select a Dean of a School other than the SCPS will consist of 12 or 13 members:

1. Five faculty members from the School concerned to be elected by the faculty of that School;

2. Two faculty members to be selected by the School's faculty members on the Committee from nominees from the other four Schools, one nominee each per School as elected by faculty of the School, elections to be conducted by the dean of the School;

- 3. One Vice President chosen by the Council of Vice Presidents;
- 4. One member to be chosen by and from among the Director of Information Technology Services or CIO, Director of the Center for Academic Success (CAS) or AVP for Academic Success, Assistant or Associate Provost, Director or Executive Director of the Libraries, and the leader of the Staff Council;
- 5. The Provost;
- 6. One dean chosen by the Council of Deans;

7. One undergraduate student from the School to be nominated by chairs of departments and chosen by the faculty members on the Committee as above, A5; and

8. One graduate student from the School, if it has a graduate program, chosen by the faculty members on the Committee as above, A6, from among those nominated by the graduate department chair(s) and graduate program director(s) within the School.

C. The Committee to select a Dean of the School of Continuing and Professional Studies will consist of 14 members:

1. One faculty member from each of the other Schools (total of 5) and two faculty members elected from the faculty at large; the faculty of each School will elect the members from their own School in elections to be conducted by the dean of the School; the School of Continuing and Professional Studies (SCPS) is exempt because of its number of full-time faculty members; once the School elections are completed, each School will nominate one faculty member for the two at-large positions and the provost's office will conduct the election from among the nominees from those Schools;

2. One dean chosen by the Council of Deans;

- 3. One Vice President chosen by the Council of Vice Presidents;
- 4. One member to be chosen by and from among the Director of Information Technology Services or CIO, Director of the Center for Academic Success (CAS) or AVP for Academic Success, Assistant or Associate Provost, Director or Executive Director of the Libraries, and the leader of the Staff Council;
- 5. One member chosen by and from among the administrative and support staff in the SCPS;
- 6. The Provost;
- 7. One undergraduate student from SCPS to be nominated by the dean of the SCPS and chosen by the faculty members on the Committee as in A5; and
- 8. One graduate student from SCPS to be nominated by the dean of SCPS and chosen by the faculty members on the Committee as in A6.
- D. The Committee to select a Director of Libraries will consist of 13 members:
 - 1. One faculty members from each School (total of 5), to be elected as in Al above;
 - 2. Two librarians chosen by the librarians;
 - 3. One Vice President chosen by the Council of Vice Presidents;
 - 4. One member to be chosen by and from among the Director of Information Technology Services or CIO, Director of the Center for Academic Success (CAS) or AVP for Academic Success, Assistant or Associate Provost, and the leader of the Staff Council;
 - 5. The Provost;
 - 6. One dean chosen by the Council of Deans;
 - 7. One undergraduate student chosen as in A5; and
 - 8. One graduate student to be chosen as in A6.

II. The chairperson of each Search Committee is to be appointed from the membership of the Committee by the President.

III. The Manhattan College Affirmative Action Officer will be a consultant to each Committee on matters of affirmative action principles and process, but will have no vote.